: Why a State of BLACK Science Fiction Convention?

When a person was recently approached with the idea of being a guest (not by me, thankfully) at SOBSFic Con, the person responded by saying “Miss me with that shit! I don’t support Black anything! If white people threw a ‘White Science Fiction Convention’ Black people would be up in arms.”

Another person took it upon themselves to “enlighten” me after I posted an article aboutSOBSFic Con in a group:

“The real problem here is calling it ‘Black Science Fiction’,” they said. “If Afram writers insist on segregating their books in this manner, it will be a real challenge to market them. Simply writing a good book that HAPPENS to have a black character is good enough… I’ve found it’s difficult to sell a book OUTSIDE of people of color markets when we call the books ‘African-American’ or ‘Black’…this is just a sad fact. I’m black and it drives ME crazy!”

The article was about the convention, NOT one of my books, but okay. My response? Here:

“Black readers ARE my target market. Don’t let it drive you crazy. Just purchase what keeps you sane.”

I do not have the time or the inclination to break this down to folks every time this comes up – and it comes up too often – so I am writing this blog to serve as a link I – and you, if you choose – can share every time we are asked why white people shouldn’t name a con the White Science Fiction Convention, but it is not just okay, but intelligent marketing, to name ours the State of Black Science Fiction Convention.

Click o read more

* *  *

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

