That time Samuel R. Delany wrote a couple issues of Wonder Woman

17801

I was researching Wonder Woman trivia on Wikipedia for another post, reminiscing about those ’70s issues where WW lost her powers because the Amazons moved to another dimension, opened a “mod” clothing boutique, and fought crime as a white-pants-suited karate woman under the tutelage of her blind Chinese martial arts mentor, I Ching (not making any of this up),

During this period, Samuel R. Delany took over scripting duties with issue #202. Delany was initially supposed to write a six-issue story arc, which would culminate in a battle over an abortion clinic, but Delany was removed reportedly due to criticism from Gloria Steinem, who, not knowing the content of the issues Delany was writing, was merely upset that Wonder Woman was no longer wearing her traditional costume.

Waitaminnit, “Chip” Delany? The guy who wrote Dhalgren? I was readingWonder Woman back then, and I had no memory of any of this! (In my defense, I was twelve at the time.) And Gloria Steinem nuked his run? Okay, Wikipedia, you have officially piqued my interest…

Googling “Samuel R. Delany writing Wonder Woman” led me toMarooned, where blogger “Paul” reprints part of a 1980 interview Delany did with The Comics Journal. His comments confirm the Wikipedia article: click to read

Instead of a believable woman, working with other women, fighting corrupt department store moguls and crusading for food cooperatives against supermarket monopolies — as she’d been doing in my scripts — she got back all her super powers … and went off to battle the Green Meanies from Mars who were Threatening the Earth’s Very Survival.

I wasn’t interested in that. So I pulled out.

Samuel R. Delany

Leave a Reply

